RSS

Fragrant Rice aka Oil Rice (油饭)

05 Jun

Since I always serve Bak Kut Teh with plain rice, I thought it’d be nice to try something different – serve with fragrant rice aka oil rice in Chinese. I’ve eaten Bak Kut Teh with oil rice before in one of the restaurants in Seremban and I love it. I tried to find the recipe online but I guess it’s so simple that I couldn’t find anyone posting it. So here’s my self-invented recipe:

Ingredients

15-20 shallots (thinly sliced)
4 cups of uncooked rice (washed)
salt to taste
oil

Method

1. Heat up the wok or frying pan with oil.
2. Add in the shallots and stir-fry till fragrant and light brown. Make sure it’s not over-fried or it’ll leave a bitter taste.
3. Add in the uncooked rice and salt. Stir-fry till it’s mixed well.
4. Scoop the rice into a rice cooker and cook like how you normally cook plain rice.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment